Skip to content

DIY Camping Hammocks 101 – Preface

September 5, 2012


Here are the girls hanging in my 2nd and 3rd attempts at hammocks.

I am a big fan of camping (mayan) hammocks.  I have made 3 already to varying degrees of success.  The girls love them!  I am stepping into the next stage of DIY now and making a few more as well as helping some others make their own.  To that end I am creating a collection of posts that will hopefully chronicle the process.

There are a good number of commercial hammocks, but there is something satisfying about being able to do it yourself (you will see that as a recurring theme for me). There are also some nice books as well as some good online resources about hammock camping which I will link to here.

So why set write it if it already exists?  Well for starters, because I want to. If that is not reason enough, then simply because there is so much info available that it is difficult to know where to start and how to proceed.

I think one of my biggest strengths is my ability to distill useful information and present it in a logical easy to understand format, so that is my goal here.

Books:

Hammock Camping: The Complete Guide to Greater Comfort, Convenience and Freedom

From → Hammocks

2 Comments
  1. Having laid in those hammocks, I give them an A+.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Best DIY Hammock Projects

Leave a Reply

